Lionel Messi leads nominees for 2022 Fifa Best Awards

Lionel Messi, captain of the World Cup-winning Argentina national team, has put an end to rumours and promised to keep playing for his country despite fulfilling a lifelong dream.

Lionel Messi, captain of the World Cup-winning Argentina team, tops the list of candidates for the 2022 Fifa Best Awards.

In addition to Luka Modric and Karim Benzema of Real Madrid, the men’s shortlist includes Jude Bellingham, an English midfielder now playing for Borussia Dortmund.

Sam Kerr and Jessie Fleming of Chelsea, as well as last year’s champion Alexia Putellas, are among the women’s nominees.

Best coach nominees include Sarina Wiegman, Emma Hayes, and Pep Guardiola.

Bethany Jane Mead, a forward for Arsenal, has been nominated for the Ballon d’Or after an outstanding year that saw her voted the tournament’s most valuable player at Euro 2022.

Chelsea’s Hayes and English-born Canada boss Beverly Priestman also make the list of women’s coaches alongside Lionesses manager Wiegman, who led the team to its first major tournament triumph at Euro 2022.

The Chelsea coach became the first to win three straight WSL titles in May, becoming the first winner of the Fifa Best award for a manager.

Carlo Ancelotti of Real Madrid, Didier Deschamps of France, and Lionel Scaloni of Argentina, who led his team to a World Cup victory as manager, are all up for best men’s coach.

Following his team’s historic run to the World Cup semi-finals, Morocco’s Walid Regragui is also a finalist.

Erling Haaland, Kevin de Bruyne, Julian Alvarez of Man City, and Mohamed Salah of Liverpool are all up for best men’s player.

Alisson Becker of Liverpool, Ederson of Man City, and Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa and Argentina are all contending for the best male goalkeeper title.

Mary Earps, the number one for England and Manchester United, and Chelsea’s Ann-Katrin Berger are among the women’s finalists.

The backheeled strike by Alessia Russo in England’s semi-final victory over Sweden at Euro 2022 is a strong candidate for the Fifa Puskas Award, given annually to the player who scores the finest goal.

A magnificent volley by France’s Kylian Mbappe in the World Cup final forced extra time, so she’ll have to compete with that.

Voting ends on February 3, and the top three finalists in each category will be revealed later in the month.

Best Women’s Player

  • Aitana Bonmati (Spain/Barcelona)
  • Debinha (Brazil/North Carolina Courage)
  • Jessie Fleming (Canada/Chelsea)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Lyon)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)
  • Beth Mead (England/Arsenal)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Germany/Wolfsburg)
  • Alexandra Popp (Germany/Wolfsburg)
  • Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)
  • Wendie Renard (France/Lyon)
  • Keira Walsh (England/Manchester City/Barcelona)
  • Leah Williamson (England/Arsenal)

Best Men’s Player

  • Julian Alvarez (Argentina/Club Atletico River Plate/Manchester City)
  • Jude Bellingham (England/Borussia Dortmund)
  • Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
  • Kevin de Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway/Borussia Dortmund/Manchester City)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Spain/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich/Barcelona)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal/Liverpool/Bayern Munich)
  • Kylian Mbappe (France/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid)
  • Neymar (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)
  • Vinicius Junior (Brazil/Real Madrid)

Best Women’s Coach

  • Sonia Bompastor (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea FC Women)
  • Bev Priestman (England/Canadian national team)
  • Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Brazilian national team)
  • Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/German national team)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/English national team)

Best Men’s Coach

  • Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid)
  • Didier Deschamps (France/French national team)
  • Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City)
  • Walid Regragui (Morocco/ Wydad AC/ Moroccan national team)
  • Lionel Scaloni (Argentina/ Argentinian national team)

Best Women’s Goalkeeper

  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea)
  • Mary Earps (England/Manchester United)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Merle Frohms (Germany/Eintracht Frankfurt/VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Alyssa Naeher (USA/Chicago Red Stars)
  • Sandra Panos Garcia-Villamil (Spain/Barcelona)

Best Men’s Goalkeeper

  • Alisson Becker (Brazil/Liverpool)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco/ Sevilla)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid)
  • Ederson (Brazil/Manchester City)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Argentina/Aston Villa)
Get more fascinating contents like this on Facebook, Twitter and Telegram
Get more stories like this on Facebook, Twitter and Telegram