Kogi Assembly condemns attack on members, sets 5-man committee

The Kogi State House of Assembly on Wednesday condemned the attack on some members by suspected hoodlums on August 1, 2017.

The Assembly also ordered for proper investigation which should be carried out by the House for necessary legislative action.

This followed a motion of urgent public importance moved by Victor Omofaye (APC Ijumu constituency ).

Omofaye noted that the chamber is supposed to be a safe place for the legislators to carry out their constitutional roles by making laws aimed at delivering maximum dividends of democracy to the people of the State with full protection of lives and other legislative staff.

According to him , “It is sad and unfortunate that while these hardworking lawmakers were sitting on the 1st of August, 2017, yet to be identified thugs turned the hallow chamber and the Assembly complex into theatre of war, assault some Honourable members physically while others have to look for escape routes for safety after been subjected to physiological trauma by these men.

Read Also:  Killings: Plateau governor cautions against rush to bail suspects

“This singular deed and action of these hoodlums on the Honourable members of the Kogi State House of Assembly is uncivilized, barbaric and should be checked, investigated, and condemned by a resolution of the house, because this act is capable of dragging the image of the House into the mud.”

Moses Ododo (APC Dekina Beraidu) while condemning the acts noted that the invasion of the house by suspected hoodlums is the first of its kind in the history of the hallow chamber in Kogi state.

“What happened in Nasarawa State and the National Assembly where lawmakers exchange punches is different from what happened in Kogi State. In the case of Kogi, thugs took over the place which has never happened since the creation of the state. No motion has been moved by any member to warrant such unspeakable act.”

Read Also:  Avian Influenza alert: Kaduna government donates bio-security equipment to farmers

The Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole in his rulings pointed out that what happened that day beats the imagination of all the members.

“What happened that day could happen to anybody. So we are not supposed to keep quiet on such matter,” he said.

He, however, set up a five man committee to give a holistic report on the cause of the attack and report back in two weeks. The five member committee are Victor Omofaye (chairman), Hassan Abdullahi, Toyin Lawal, Lawi Ahmed, and Haruna Idoko.

Get more stories like this on Facebook, Twitter and Telegram