APC sweeps Ondo local council elections

All Progressives Congress (APC) Nigeria

The Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of all the 18 chairmanship seats in Saturday’s local government election in the state

Announcing the election result on Sunday evening, the commission’s chairman, Yomi Dinakin, said that the party also won 194 councilorship seats out of 198, while the results in the four remaining wards were declared inconclusive.

Newsmen report that only seven of 14 registered political parties participated in the exercise.

Newsiness also report that there was no contest in five local governments.

Dinakin, who declared the APC candidates winner of the election in the five local government areas, said it was in line with the Electoral Act.

Get more stories like this on Facebook, Twitter and Telegram
Read Also:  Labour Party urges President Buhari to use Edo election as template for electoral reform